About A Girl

ABOUT A GIRL. 12/11/12

 

Well, let’s be honest here, 47 hardly counts as “Girl” in anyones’ book, but why let the facts get in the way of a chain of song titles?

So, tonight I went on something that could almost be considered to be a bit like a date. Yeah, I know.  Well, it was more like a “Hey, how are you?” sort of thing.  For the first time in over 2 decades I went to meet someone new in a social setting, and I have to say I was nervous as hell. But first, the back story. After our initial contact, we had semi agreed to meet for a coffee and a chat, then she got cold feet. Ah well. So I left it at that, accepting her decision but leaving  open the possibility of later. A week or so later she emailed me and suggested we meet in a well known themed pub in the North End. Wow! I took this as a very positive sign, but seeing as pubs are open later than coffee shops in general, and she had a commitment nearby earlier in the evening, it made sense.

I parked within hiking distance, no mean feat in that part of town, and was actually shaking as I crossed the road and pushed open the door. I’m sorry to break this to you gentle reader, but although I present an outward image of the cool, laid back sophisticated gent,  but inside, I am in fact about as nervous  a long tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs when it comes to situations like this. It was a nerve wracking drive up due to traffic, and I kept expecting a cancellation call right up to the moment she walked in.

In fact, she arrived bang on time, and rather than sitting across the table from me, she joined me on the bench. Lest you moralists fear the worst, throughout the whole time we kept far enough apart for the Holy Ghost to pass between us. We spent the time in an enjoyable conversation which had both of us laughing ( that’s good, right?), and we have enough in common to know where the other is coming from – her life parallels mine in so many aspects as to be uncanny.She had to leave early due to a work issue, and  as we parted, she said “We’ll talk”.

I know that for a lot of you this is pretty small beer, and when asked “when was your last date?” some of you will no doubt say “Last Saturday night”, but for your noble writer, two full decades since his last similar event, it was like being on an alien planet and having to learn the rules of society by observation. I suppose this is a very definite expression  of the new normal, especially considering my previous post, but if I’m going to move on with my life, I see no reason to wait .

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

