Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life

ALWAYS LOOK ON THE BRIGHT SIDE OF LIFE. 01/14/13

My last couple of posts have been somewhat on the miserablist end of the scale, for which, apologies. However, having consulted  my personal Pythia, I’ve realised that this is rather fruitless. So I’m taking a fresh look at things. Yes, I’ve yet to meet anyone willing to progress beyond that modern ritual of the “Pre – first date”, but having said that, I have been out a couple of times, so that is definite progress and I’m still getting positive responses from  other sources, so that can’t be bad, can it? It was pointed out to me that it’s a percentages game anyway, and that it is to some extent just a matter of waiting until the stars align.

I have to say, though that it is a distinct confidence boost to know that someone is at least willing to meet  based on some photos and a profile that may or may not be accurate. I only wish the whole process wasn’t so transactional in nature, but oh well, “If you can’t take a joke you shouldn’t have joined” as the saying goes.

On a related note, I’m still without work, but I have had one interview ( didn’t make the cut) and I’m making money from my writing by creating blog posts for commercial clients. It pays less than you’d think, but at least it pays something.

As far as accommodation goes, I did get into the place I wanted, and all I have to do is wait until it is built. Hopefully I will be able to extend my current lease so I won’t be dependent on friends having space for me for too long. Actually, this is a good thing, in that I have friends who are willing to take me in, and even offer financial aid should I need it.

Even my financial situation has an upside. As I think I mentioned, I’m keeping a tight rein on my food spending, trying to eat as healthily as possible whilst not feeling like I’m depriving myself. I weighed my self last week, and it appears that since October 1st I have lost over 15lbs, six of those since the turn of the year!  Can’t be bad, eh? I certainly feel better, and even some of my exercise shorts are too big!

So when I look at the whole picture, it seems like things aren’t so bad after all, and even though I may well be chewing on lifes’ gristle, I won’t grumble, but give a whistle.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

