Big Yellow Taxi

BIG YELLOW TAXI. 03/23/13

At least that’s how it feels. The weekend isn’t over yet, and already I feel as if I should have a “For Hire” sign on the roof of the car. I won’t bore you with the details, but between riding lessons,various softball and baseball practices and games this weekend, a birthday party and a meeting of my own, I’ve hardly had the wheel out of my hands in the last 48 hours. I shouldn’t complain, really as this is all part and parcel of parenthood, and if you can’t take a joke, you shouldn’t have joined, as the saying goes.

Still, it would be nice to get a break during daylight hours. It doesn’t help that STBX is sick, so I had to do yesterdays’ shuffling around on top of all the usual stuff. I’m wondering if it would be better or worse if I were living nearby. Maybe she would expect me to do more of her shuffling around if I were closer. I have to say that I don’t like her attitude of late. As well as the pushback over the new house value, she now expects me to drop everything to cover for her so she can take kayaking lessons. She made the announcement as if it were a fait accompli, and I am simply at her beck and call. The nerve! what if I have a better offer for that Wednesday night? I’m fairly willing to be with them on the Saturday morning, but not to take them with me on the Friday night.

How stupid does she think I am that I believe that  she is suggesting that I take them on the Friday night purely so I can get more time with them? There is no  way that I am going to play shortstop to her social life. I wouldn’t be going out after a 7pm finish to a baseball game on a Friday night anyway, but why should I give  her the night off? Can you imagine the shit I would get if I expected her to take the kids on her “Weekend Off” just to make my life easier? Nope. Not going to happen. She will just have to reschedule and presumably make sure she has fresh batteries on hand.

I know the above  might sound a bit hypocritical, but I don’t let my social life and my kids interfere with each other. I realise she may well not have an ulterior motive, but I’m not willing to give her the benefit of the doubt, not at this stage of the game.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

