Electricity

ELECTRICITY. 07/07/13

July 4th has never been a particularly easy holiday for me. I put up with it, go along with the day, pack away a few beers, but that’s about it. Try and see it from my perspective. It’s a bit like celebrating D – Day in front of Germans, or the fall of Saigon in front of Americans. Get the picture? Good!

This year, however, was much, much easier. I took my early awakening as an opportunity to get things done, and so spent the morning in the traditional way by brewing some Belgian beer and watching a Japanese movie – “Gojira”, to be precise. What could be more American?

I was glad of the early start, however, when at just after 2pm, the power failed. I spent the following 9 hours in splendid isolation, sitting on the deck reading and listening to podcasts, with a 2 hour nap in the middle. A very relaxing day, with the added bonus of watching the sun sink slowly in the west, the sky turning from pale blue to yellow, orange, red and deep blue before settling in to a deep, deep black, a fireworks display that put to shame the best efforts of the Chinese chemists whose products rent the evening air with screeches,flashes, bangs and pops.

It’s funny, but I really enjoyed the day, seeing as I had no distractions and was able to follow wherever my fancy led me. I had to laugh when my ex asked me the next day: “Did you come to the parade?” Why in the name of Bonaparte’s balls would I drive to her town to watch a parade? I guess she was pissed off that I hadn’t asked to come to her barbeque, but I’ll be damned if I’m going to give her the benefit of that win.

All in all, a very enjoyable day. Perhaps I should hope for a few more power outages during the year. Thanksgiving would be a good one, don’t you think?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

