Getting Nowhere Fast

GETTING NOWHERE FAST. 06/21/13

I think that the official halfway point in the year is as good a place as any to stop and have a quick review, don’t you? Not so good of late, it has to be said.  Of course, there is no prospect on the job front, which is pretty depressing in its’ own right despite all my efforts, and only time will tell if my current pivot will bear fruit. I’m not holding my breath, but it would be nice to at least feel like there’s a job out there for me, even if I can’t see it right now.

Still, the employment front is more heartening than the personal one.  If the employment front is the “War Without Hate” that was the North African campaign, then the personal front is Stalingrad in the winter of ’42. Now I don’t want to go all ‘Enry ‘Iggins on you, but why can’t women just come out and be honest? At least then I could walk away from the restaurant thinking “Well, at least the food was decent”, or “That’s the best Manhattan I’ve had in a long while”.

But nooooooo!. Both meetings last week appeared to go pretty well, but apparently I’m too stupid to read the signals. I’d much rather hear the truth, than be fobbed off with an email, or as appears to be the new standard, complete silence.

Not a good few weeks on the old personal worth scene, then.  Maybe that seems a bit harsh, but after having been told by a very reliable source just how unbefuckinglievably  low the bar is when it comes to getting a second meeting, I’m beginning to have some very serious doubts. Mind you, the fact that I’ve reduced my daily meds to once every other day to build up a stockpile for when my ex drops me from the health plan could have something to do with it I suppose.

Ah well, at least I have tomorrow to look forward to. A nice trip out to Port Townsend followed by a glass of wine on the deck will perk me up no end. Even though I know that nothing will happen, at least it will be a day spent in the company of someone whom I appreciate and have affection for, which has to count for something, don’t you think?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

