Jive Turkey. 11/24/12

Digging deep for today’s title. Still, I have to ask, how was your Thanksgiving? Got to say that mine wasn’t bad. Tuesday was a dry run of sorts. It was my regular day to be with the kids, so I brought them to their mums’ house and we hung out as usual, but I ate dinner there as it was curriculum night at school, and there was no way I was going to miss that.

And so it began. STBX had cooked a ham and enough sides to kill a donkey, but that didn’t stop us. Her rationale was that she didn’t think we’d want turkey two days running. I love ham.

Needless to say the 1st and 2nd graders’ play about Tutankhamen was adorable. The senior class had their presentations set up and my son gave a stellar explanation of hieroglyphics and the importance of the Rosetta Stone.

We had Thanksgiving on Wednesday as my Father In Law had to fly back to SFO the next day for a Bridge tournament. For the first time, STBX bought a 15lb organic turkey on the basis that a prepared breast is enough for 3 of us, but seeing as the kids are getting more adventurous, it made sense. Can’t beat the smell of a full, roast turkey. I prepared myself by going to the gym for a full workout and specifically didn’t wear a belt when I got dressed. Everything went incredibly well, I have to say, especially as STBX is aware that I have moved on and now regard myself as  De facto single.

You’d think that would be enough, wouldn’t you?  But no! On Thanksgiving I hit the gym before going to see the kids and give STBX a chance to work out and then went over to a friends’ house for my 2 1/2 th Thanksgiving dinner of the week. I had accepted the open invitation from my friend to spend Thanksgiving with her and her husband. I’m guessing that most of you didn’t celebrate Thanksgiving in the company of a German and a part Apache firefighter, but things are never ordinary when “Ding” is around. This was the topper – turkey AND ham! Spot the overachieving newlywed!  BTW, Ding, it was the best meal I have had in a long time.

Add copious amounts of high end vodka and scotch, some mystery booze and an eggnog pie topping that had to be at least 50% proof and you won’t be surprised to learn that by the end of the evening I had  been given my introduction to “Rock Band”. Popular opinion has it that no one has ever seen the drums get such a thorough pounding until then. Apparently the last time anyone saw a beating like that, Rodney King was involved. Hmm. Maybe I have some unresolved anger issues to work out after all. It wasn’t all fun and games, though, as my attempt at “Won’t Get Fooled Again” on the guitar resulted in a blister that has now turned the most beautiful shade of deep purple you have ever seen.

All joking aside, this week had made me reflect on thanks. I’m thankful for where I am now, that I am happier, more confident, more outgoing than I have ever been. I’m thankful for my kids, who while they can drive me insane, are still the most intelligent, resilient, caring and wonderful kids I will ever know. I’m thankful for all of my friends, because without you, I don’t know if I would be here. I’m thankful for your unconditional love and support. I’m thankful for the possibilities the future holds.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

