Never As Tired As When I’m Waking Up

NEVER AS TIRED AS WHEN I’M WAKING UP. 05/16/13

Tuesday saw the arrival of my bedroom set, which made me very happy. I’d had the mattress and box spring since Friday, so at least I was no longer sleeping in a sleeping bag on a camping pad, which was a major relief.  You would think that this would result in an improvement in my sleep, but you’d be wrong.

For about the last five weeks my sleep has been truly crappy, laced with weird dreams, and  there was not nearly enough of it (Apologies to Woody Allen). Maybe it was stress related from having to find a new place or anxiety over reaching the end of the divorce process, but you’d think that now I’m free and clear and in a really nice home things would have returned to normal. But again, you’d be wrong. I’m getting between four and five hours a night, usually waking up around five or six am and find myself unable to get back to sleep.

I know it’s not the pillow top mattress, I know it’s not because I lack space – it’s a king size, and I know it’s not the bedding – I bought a 500 thread count comforter cover and some equally high count sheets. So what is it? It could be the process of adapting to new circumstances. I always sleep poorly in a strange bed, ( well, not always, but you know what I mean) which makes travel a pain. I took me a while to get used to the previous rental, and that sort of reached a liveable equilibrium, but I find myself tired every afternoon and have had to take naps from time to time. Even today, with the sun streaming through the windows and a very interesting book in front of me I found my eyelids replaced by lead and was yawning all the way through tonight’s softball game despite my daughter getting two of her teams’ seven runs.

I also have a lot more to deal with on a daily basis – shopping, organising, general chores, etc so that may have something to do with it at some level, but it’s not as if I’m working like a rented mule. I wish there was some simple solution and I could get eight hours a night, but maybe this is also the new normal.  Either way, I need to find some way to adjust to the lack of decent sleep.

Send your answers on the back of a $20 bill to….

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

