What Have I Done To Deserve This?

WHAT HAVE I DONE TO DESERVE THIS? 02/03/13

But not in a bad way, just in case you were thinking the worst. My last post was a little snarky, to say the least, wouldn’t you agree? Well, seems I may have been a little bit premature ( never, ever a problem anywhere else, let me make that absolutely clear right from the start). It seems that while out one day I may have trodden unknowingly in a pile of Ryan Gosling, and now find myself the object of attention from more than one  direction. Nothing about me has changed, the entire male population of Washington hasn’t been wiped out as a result of some bizarre biological disaster, nor has the battery industry collapsed overnight. Damned if I can work it out.

Anyway, since my last post, I’ve been out a couple of times, and find that for the first time ever, things are progressing really well. In fact, all were “meet and greets”, which seem to be a new tradition, wherein we recreate in a completely artificial context the conversation and social reconnaissance that would normally take place at a party or similar social gathering. This is where things start to get tricky, and I’m soliciting your advice directly. This is the thing: is it morally acceptable for me to go on  meet and greets with different women during an overlapping period of time?

Just to put the record straight, these have involved nothing more serious than Happy Hour, and no more physical contact than a hug on greeting and departure. They feel a bit like job interviews, in that we both know why we’re there, and all the questions and answers serve the purpose of sorting the acceptable from the none, but it still feels weird. I enjoy going out for the evening, and enjoy spending time with interesting, intelligent people  who are genuinely interested in me and what I have to say, but I don’t want to lead anyone on or create any kind of bad blood. I also have to ask, is it reasonable of me to assume that the woman I meet for drinks and appies on Thursday may also be meeting someone else for the same on Friday and Saturday and for lunch on Monday?

Naturally, should anything lead to the exchange of vital bodily fluids, then all other bets are off. I may not be perfect, but I’m not a bastard.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

